Gender and Building Things

Today I bought a shoe rack, and I came back to the dorm to build it with my dad.  As we were building it, he used the big screwdriver and I used the small, baby screwdriver.  First that’s doing gender because I bought a shoe rack for organizational purposes, and that reinforces the idea that girls are organized.  Second, I did gender because while I did help to build the shoe rack, my dad did most of the work and double checked all of my work to make sure it was correct, reinforcing the idea that guys are better at building things than girls.  The simple act of buying the shoe rack is also gendered because I bought it so that my heels would have a safe place in my room, and the specific shoe rack I bought was made specifically for heels, not for everyday shoes like sneakers or flip flops.

Leave a Reply

